Buy The Elephant Vanishes (paperback)


10 in stock

“The Elephant Vanishes” is a collection of short stories written by Haruki Murakami, first published in 1993. The anthology features 17 short stories that showcase Murakami’s distinctive blend of surrealism, existentialism, and magical realism.

Each story in “The Elephant Vanishes” explores themes of alienation, isolation, and the search for meaning in contemporary society. Murakami’s protagonists often find themselves confronting strange and inexplicable occurrences, from the sudden disappearance of an elephant from a zoo to the inexplicable vanishing of a woman’s husband.

The stories are set in both urban and suburban landscapes, ranging from Tokyo to small provincial towns, and feature a diverse cast of characters, including housewives, office workers, and even talking cats. Despite their seemingly mundane settings, Murakami infuses each story with a sense of mystery and wonder, inviting readers to question the nature of reality and the boundaries between the ordinary and the extraordinary.

Through his characteristic blend of humor, melancholy, and philosophical inquiry, Murakami invites readers to contemplate the mysteries of existence and the fleeting nature of human connection. “The Elephant Vanishes” is a captivating exploration of the human condition that will leave readers both enchanted and unsettled long after they have finished reading.

Weight300 kg


Book Author

Haruki Murakami





Customer Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.